Bad Advice

Bad Advice

What’s the worst piece of advice you have ever received ?

The worst piece of advice I received was in the realm of parenting…more specifically breast-feeding my then 3 week old son !!I know this is quite a emotive topic to be covering but my it’s just my experience and as you will see a bit further along I can see both sides of the story.

So let’s start ; my son wasn’t latching well and I’m fairly sure now my milk supply was gone or nearly gone as result of that bad latching …anyhoo he was HUNGRY and in all likelihood dehydrated …things weren’t pretty and in my heart of hearts I knew this but because I was a new mum and because I was desperate for the feeding to work I rung a helpline …This was silly and I shouldn’t have done it . (The breast feeding helpline’s are good and do fantastic work) . I obviously didn’t communicate greatly to the lady whom I spoke with , as the advice she gave me was to feed for a further two more days and increase the feeding to 1 to 2 hourly ….It was torture and it just didn’t work and the days after all that he still lost weight !! His weight had gone from being born on 91st centile line to dropping to 9th centile …and he looked awful ….I take full responsibility for this and to this day I still feel bad about it .

The thing is as soon as you become a parent you are instantly flooded with advice .It can be over-whelming ,well it certainly was for me and especially with my 1st child . To balance the tale I did go onto to successfully breastfeed my daughter til she was 10 and half months .I did this with the aid of going to a my local breast feeding café and gaining the support and friendship of a group of ladies who I refer to as my Booby group friends !!

When I think of advice in general, there’s a song that came out in the 90’s called “Sunscreen” that comes to mind .The lyrics are taken from a famous essay written in 1997 by Mary Schmich .

Sunscreen the full song ; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTJ7AzBIJoI

” Be careful whose advice you buy , but be patient with those who supply it. Advice is a form of nostalgia, dispensing it is a way of fishing the past from disposal ,wiping it off , painting over the ugly parts and recycling it for far more than its worth”

What’s the worst piece of advice you’ve received ? Let me know in the comments ….

5 thoughts on “Bad Advice

  1. Oooh i follow both you and Josie and you both quoted from a great song there. I wish i had thought of something to write on this topic…but I couldn’t come up with much. I guess i have been given lots of good advice….but quite often failed to take it.x

Leave a Reply

